African Bank Credit Card
Compare African Bank credit card application requirements, fees and interest rates. Limits up to R500,000, subject to approval and affordability.
Review basis: Reviewed on 13 October 2026 using the supplied HTML copy of African Bank’s Black Credit Card product page, including its features, application FAQs and pricing table labelled 2026/2027. Live access remained blocked. The table’s exact effective date, linked card agreement and insurance policy could not be independently checked. Borrowing interest is specified by agreement; the advertised 3% annual rate applies to positive balances. Cost illustrations and suitability assessments below are editorial analysis, not personalised quotations.
African Bank Black Credit Card: costs and requirements
- Provider and product: African Bank’s Visa credit card provides an ongoing credit facility for purchases and withdrawals. Its website publishes credit provider number NCRCP7638; the individual register entry was not independently verified for this review.
- Credit limit and repayment: Apply for up to R500,000, subject to assessment and affordability. This is a credit limit, not a promised payout. Confirm the minimum monthly payment and repayment rules in your agreement.
- Interest: Borrowing interest is variable and set out in your agreement. The reviewed page does not state a numerical borrowing rate or representative APR. Its 3% per annum credit interest rate is interest earned on a positive balance.
- Interest-free purchases: Up to 62 days on point-of-sale and online purchases, provided you settle the outstanding balance in full by the due date.
- Fees and insurance: The 2026/2027 table lists a R69 monthly service fee and R147 initiation fee, including VAT. Transaction charges may apply. Credit life insurance is required, but its premium and policy exclusions were not verified.
- Application requirements: The page says applicants must be over 18 and provide recent proof of income and a latest bank statement reflecting three months’ salary deposits. Start online; approved applicants collect their personalised card at a branch.
- Best fit and main limitation: Most useful for shoppers who can repay in full. Carrying debt adds borrowing interest and insurance costs to the monthly fee, so the interest-free benefit alone is insufficient to judge value.
Alexander Balanoff on African Bank Credit Card
With African Bank’s Black Credit Card, I would base the comparison on how I expect to repay. If I can clear the balance each month, I would compare account fees, required insurance and transaction charges. If I expect to carry debt, I would ask what monthly payment clears my planned spending within a set period, including all costs and assuming no further purchases. At LoansPlus, we encourage that distinction because an interest-free purchase offer does not tell you what longer-term borrowing will cost. The useful comparison is the total repayment and the date you expect to be debt-free.
African Bank credit card eligibility and documents
African Bank’s published checklist requires applicants to be over 18, with recent proof of income and a latest bank statement showing three months’ salary deposits. Approval and the available limit remain subject to the bank’s assessment and affordability rules.
The reviewed page does not specify a minimum salary or credit score. Confirm any additional identity, residence or employment documents required for your circumstances. Do not treat the advertised maximum limit as an indication of what your income will support.
Assess affordability using the amount you intend to repay each month, including fees and insurance. Being able to make a minimum payment does not establish that you can clear the debt within your intended timeframe.
Who should consider the Black Credit Card?
This card may suit someone who wants Visa acceptance, online account controls and an interest-free purchase period, and can settle the statement balance in full. Branch issuance after approval is useful when access to a physical card matters.
Reconsider it if you expect to carry a balance for long periods or regularly withdraw cash. For one planned expense, compare the total repayment and defined end date of a personal loan with the card’s ongoing costs. A debit card may be more suitable if you only need payment convenience.
If existing repayments already exceed your budget, consider debt counselling options before adding another credit facility.
How to apply and manage the card
Application and repayment process
- Start through African Bank’s online quotation route and supply the requested income and supporting information.
- Review the offered limit, borrowing rate, minimum payment, fees and compulsory insurance before accepting.
- If approved, visit an African Bank branch for your personalised embossed card. The bank says an SMS confirms when the activated card can transact.
- Use the app or online banking to check balances, obtain statements, manage transaction limits and make payments.
The product page also lists repayments by phone, debit order, EFT, EasyPay, Pay@ and at branches. Check the charge and processing time for your chosen method, particularly near the payment due date.
Approval and card collection
African Bank advertises instant branch issuance once approved. That does not establish an instant credit decision. The reviewed page provides no fixed application turnaround, so a 48-hour decision should not be assumed.
Payment difficulties, complaints and lost cards
If you expect to miss a payment, contact African Bank before it falls due and ask what repayment assistance is available. Obtain any arrangement in writing, including its effect on interest, insurance and the remaining balance.
The supplied page lists 0861 111 011 for personal banking complaints and compliments, together with an online complaints form. Retain your reference number and request the escalation procedure if the matter remains unresolved.
Report a lost or stolen card on 0861 000 555 or +27 11 256 9988. The page also provides for stopping the card through the app or online banking.
Questions to ask before accepting
- What annual borrowing rate will I pay, how can it change, and when does interest start on purchases, withdrawals and transfers?
- How is my minimum payment calculated, and how long would my intended balance take to clear if I make no further purchases?
- Which balance must I settle to receive interest-free purchases, and what happens if I pay only part of it?
- What is the credit life premium, how is it calculated, and which exclusions, waiting periods and benefit limits apply?
- Can suitable existing insurance be accepted, and what evidence would the bank require?
- Which pricing schedule applies to my account, and what charges apply to repayments, cash deposits, foreign transactions and closure?
African Bank Black Credit Card advantages and limitations
Advantages
- Conditional interest-free purchases: Up to 62 days can help manage purchase timing when the outstanding balance is repaid in full.
- Branch card issuance: The bank advertises a personalised embossed card without a further waiting period after approval.
- Account controls: App and online banking functions include statements, card stopping and transaction-limit changes.
Limitations
- Ongoing account costs: The monthly service fee remains a cost to consider even when purchases qualify for interest-free treatment.
- Quote-dependent borrowing cost: The public table does not provide a numerical borrowing rate, and the required insurance premium needs confirmation.
- Additional transaction charges: Cash access, some deposit methods and international spending can add materially to the account fee.
African Bank credit card interest, fees and total cost
The supplied product page labels its table “Pricing for 2026/2027” and states that fees include 15% VAT. It also retains a download labelled October 2025 to September 2026 and another labelled upcoming fees. Confirm which schedule applies to your agreement; the new table’s precise start date was not verified.
Borrowing interest and compulsory insurance
The table gives the debit interest rate as “As per agreement” and says interest rates are variable. No numerical borrowing rate or representative APR appears in the supplied page. The separate 3% per annum credit interest rate concerns money held as a positive balance, not money borrowed.
The interest-free offer covers qualifying POS and online purchases when the outstanding balance is settled in full by the due date. Check the statement date and payment deadline rather than assuming every purchase receives 62 days. Do not assume withdrawals or transfers receive the same treatment.
Credit life insurance is required. The page mentions death, disability and several employment-related events, but the premium, exclusions, waiting periods and claim limits were not available for verification. Obtain the policy schedule before accepting; the listed events do not establish that every related claim will qualify.
Published account and transaction charges
- Account charges: R69 monthly service fee; R147 initiation fee; R136.50 for a replacement card.
- Messages and statements: R0.60 for the SMS messaging service; statement reprints are listed as free.
- Local purchases and till withdrawals: Purchases in South Africa are free; cash back at participating till points costs R7.50.
- Local ATM withdrawals: R10 for R100 or less; R14 plus 2% of the transaction value for amounts above R100.
- International purchases: R10 per POS purchase plus a 2.75% international conversion fee.
- International ATM withdrawals: R80 plus 2% of the transaction value, with the additional 2.75% international conversion fee.
- Selected deposit methods: Cash acceptor machines charge 2% of the transaction value; Pay@ deposits funded by debit or credit card cost 3.25%.
- Other charges: Declined transactions cost R10. Balance enquiries, prepaid services and unsuccessful transaction disputes can also attract fees.
Illustration: account fees over the first year
Our calculation, not an African Bank quotation: Assuming one R147 initiation fee and 12 monthly service fees of R69, first-year account fees total R975. This excludes borrowing interest, compulsory insurance, transaction charges and any interest on financed fees. It is not the total cost of borrowing or an APR.
For cash access, a R1,000 local ATM withdrawal would carry a R34 transaction fee under the displayed tariff: R14 plus R20. That charge is separate from borrowing interest and other account costs.
When comparing offers, request a repayment illustration for the same balance and intended repayment period, with no further spending and all compulsory charges included.
Is the African Bank Black Credit Card worth considering?
The strongest feature is the conditional interest-free period for purchases, supported by branch card issuance and digital account controls. Its value depends on how you repay: clearing the balance can avoid qualifying purchase interest, while carrying debt adds agreement-specific interest and insurance costs.
The decisive comparison is your total cost for your expected spending and repayment pattern. Check that against another card or a fixed-term borrowing option before accepting a large limit.
African Bank credit card FAQs
Does African Bank’s R500,000 maximum limit make it a better option?
The advertised limit is up to R500,000, subject to assessment and affordability. It does not show what you will qualify for or how much borrowing will cost. Compare the limit actually offered, your borrowing rate and the payment needed to clear your intended spending. A larger facility offers little advantage if a lower-limit card meets your needs at a lower total cost.
What salary and documents do I need for an African Bank credit card?
The reviewed product page does not specify a minimum salary or credit score. It says applicants must be over 18 and provide recent proof of income and a latest bank statement reflecting three months’ salary deposits. If you are self-employed or paid irregularly, confirm which alternative income documents African Bank accepts before applying; the published checklist does not settle that question.
What does the card cost if I repay my purchases in full?
The published 2026/2027 table lists a R69 monthly service fee and R147 initiation fee, including VAT. Assuming 12 monthly fees and one initiation fee, that is R975 in first-year account charges, before compulsory insurance and transaction charges. This is an account-fee illustration, not the total cost of credit. For someone who repays in full, compare these recurring costs and the benefits you will actually use.
Is African Bank’s 3% interest rate the rate I pay on borrowing?
No. The 3% per annum rate applies to positive balances—money held in the account above what you owe. The borrowing rate is variable and specified in your agreement. When comparing African Bank with another card, use the annual borrowing rates in both quotations and include insurance and fees. Comparing its positive-balance rate with another bank’s borrowing rate would be misleading.
When are African Bank’s 62 interest-free days useful?
African Bank offers up to 62 days on POS and online purchases if you settle the outstanding balance in full by the due date. Check the billing dates rather than assuming every purchase receives 62 days. If you expect to carry a balance, compare borrowing costs instead. Ask how interest is calculated after partial payment and what you must do to regain interest-free treatment.
How should I compare African Bank’s compulsory credit life insurance?
Credit life insurance is required, but its premium and detailed exclusions were not verified from the reviewed page. Request the premium calculation, cover limits, waiting periods and exclusions, then check whether the employment-related benefits apply to your circumstances. Ask whether suitable existing cover can satisfy the requirement. A lower borrowing rate may still produce a higher total cost once insurance is included.
Can I complete the application online without visiting a branch?
You can start online, but African Bank’s published process directs approved applicants to a branch to collect their personalised embossed card. Its instant-issue claim concerns card production after approval; it does not establish an instant credit decision. If you need the card for a specific purchase or trip, confirm approval, collection and activation timing before relying on it.
Is withdrawing cash at a till cheaper than using an ATM?
Under the displayed 2026/2027 tariff, cash back at participating till points costs R7.50. A local ATM withdrawal above R100 costs R14 plus 2% of the withdrawal; withdrawing R1,000 therefore carries a R34 transaction fee. Till withdrawals may be cheaper where available, subject to merchant and card limits. These figures exclude borrowing interest, and the published interest-free purchase offer should not be assumed to cover cash.
Can I increase my limit later instead of switching credit cards?
African Bank says a card that is six months or older may qualify for a limit increase, subject to a credit assessment. Requests can be made through a branch, its digital channels or on 0860 333 004. Before accepting, ask whether the increase changes your rate, fees, insurance premium or minimum payment, then compare those terms with another provider’s offer.
African Bank Credit Card Contact
Contact Number
Website
Physical Address
- 59,16th Rd Johannesburg Midrand 1685 South Africa
- Get Directions
Postal Address
- Private Bag x170, Midrand, Johannesburg, 1685, South Africa
Opening Hours
- Monday 08:30 – 17:00
- Tuesday 08:30 – 17:00
- Wednesday 08:30 – 17:00
- Thursday 08:30 – 17:00
- Friday 08:30 – 17:00
- Saturday 09:00 – 13:00
- Sunday Closed